DEFCON Desktop Linux app (UNOFFICIAL)

Feedback to the Admin and Staff of the DEFCON Warning System. Comments and suggestions welcome regarding the System or the Message Board or any part of the DEFCON Warning System.
RiffRaff
DEFCON Data Analyst
DEFCON Data Analyst
Posts: 2216
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, US
Contact:

Tue Apr 02, 2019 11:45 pm

Okay, installed. I'll let you know how it goes.
"It's in your nature to destroy yourselves." - Terminator 2: Judgment Day

DEFCONWarningSystem
Director
Director
Posts: 6030
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:26 pm
Contact:

Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:42 am

Have you tried making your own code file, like test.dat, and having your app poll that? That way you can test it to your heart's content.

As of now, there are no further System tests planned.

RiffRaff
DEFCON Data Analyst
DEFCON Data Analyst
Posts: 2216
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, US
Contact:

Fri Apr 05, 2019 1:25 am

DEFCONWarningSystem wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:42 am
Have you tried making your own code file, like test.dat, and having your app poll that? That way you can test it to your heart's content.

As of now, there are no further System tests planned.
That would be extremely helpful...
"It's in your nature to destroy yourselves." - Terminator 2: Judgment Day

DEFCONWarningSystem
Director
Director
Posts: 6030
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:26 pm
Contact:

Fri May 17, 2019 9:01 pm

How is this project coming along?

RiffRaff
DEFCON Data Analyst
DEFCON Data Analyst
Posts: 2216
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, US
Contact:

Sat May 18, 2019 6:38 am

Seems to be working for me, but as long as we remain at DEFCON 5, hard to tell how it will react to real-world alert bumps, or how it would react past DEFCON 4, which is as high as it's gone while I've had it installed.
"It's in your nature to destroy yourselves." - Terminator 2: Judgment Day

DEFCONWarningSystem
Director
Director
Posts: 6030
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:26 pm
Contact:

Sat May 18, 2019 5:37 pm

Has it been tested with a test file? Just change the file from code.dat to www.yourserver.com/test.dat and put it through its paces.

RiffRaff
DEFCON Data Analyst
DEFCON Data Analyst
Posts: 2216
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, US
Contact:

Sun May 19, 2019 8:07 am

DEFCONWarningSystem wrote:
Sat May 18, 2019 5:37 pm
Has it been tested with a test file? Just change the file from code.dat to www.yourserver.com/test.dat and put it through its paces.
Okay, I'll try to get to that next week.
"It's in your nature to destroy yourselves." - Terminator 2: Judgment Day

RiffRaff
DEFCON Data Analyst
DEFCON Data Analyst
Posts: 2216
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, US
Contact:

Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:38 pm

Okay, minor snowball in the works somewhere with this. I've placed the DWS-linux.sh in my personal Startup Applications, and while the program does start, it won't update the level. I just get the grey "NC" icon. However, if I quit the application and go double-click that script manually, it starts up perfectly. I've done a lot of troubleshooting - path, permissions, etc. - to try and figure out why it will work by manually starting it but not when it's configured to startup automatically. Any thoughts on this?
"It's in your nature to destroy yourselves." - Terminator 2: Judgment Day

iron_eagl
.
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 11:53 pm

Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:53 pm

I think it’s related to there not being a desktop at the point when it gets called on startup - have you tried putting a delay in the startup command to bash?

I still run into just a YAD icon appearing on first login sometimes, but right-click “refresh”-ing works for me. I don’t think I’ve ever had it stuck at the “NC” icon on startup, though.

Have you tried putting the command in the ~/.profile file? That might give different results compared to Startup Applications.

During the next week I’m in the throes of university final exams, but I’ll see if I can figure anything out from my end.

You might also want to try the “twitter” branch, that’s my current dev branch and I might have fixed something without properly committing it back to the main branch. The twitter stuff works off of another script, and can be completely disabled in the main config file. Parsing doesn’t work all the time, and I haven’t found a sustainable way to get a twitter rss feed, that’s why I haven’t merged it yet.
Thanks for trying it out!

RiffRaff
DEFCON Data Analyst
DEFCON Data Analyst
Posts: 2216
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, US
Contact:

Wed Dec 11, 2019 12:46 am

iron_eagl wrote:
Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:53 pm
I think it’s related to there not being a desktop at the point when it gets called on startup - have you tried putting a delay in the startup command to bash?

I still run into just a YAD icon appearing on first login sometimes, but right-click “refresh”-ing works for me. I don’t think I’ve ever had it stuck at the “NC” icon on startup, though.

Have you tried putting the command in the ~/.profile file? That might give different results compared to Startup Applications.

During the next week I’m in the throes of university final exams, but I’ll see if I can figure anything out from my end.

You might also want to try the “twitter” branch, that’s my current dev branch and I might have fixed something without properly committing it back to the main branch. The twitter stuff works off of another script, and can be completely disabled in the main config file. Parsing doesn’t work all the time, and I haven’t found a sustainable way to get a twitter rss feed, that’s why I haven’t merged it yet.
Thanks for trying it out!
Thanks for your response. I will try out your suggestions and let you know what I get. Good luck on finals.
"It's in your nature to destroy yourselves." - Terminator 2: Judgment Day

Post Reply