Problem With DEFCON App

Feedback to the Admin and Staff of the DEFCON Warning System. Comments and suggestions welcome regarding the System or the Message Board or any part of the DEFCON Warning System.
User avatar
RiffRaff
DEFCON Data Analyst
DEFCON Data Analyst
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, US
Contact:

Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:46 am

I've had the DEFCON Android app on my phone for quite some time now. Never had a problem with it until the past few weeks when the icon randomly changes an error alert stating there is no internet connection. This continues until I reboot the phone, despite other apps accessing the internet with no problem. I can detect no connection problems with my phone.

1: Is anyone else reported this issue or is it just me?
2: Is there a method of forcing just the app to restart and recheck for its connection so I don't have to reboot the whole phone?

Thanks for your work, guys (and gals, if applicable). It is much appreciated.

Riff
"It's in your nature to destroy yourselves." - Terminator 2: Judgment Day

User avatar
DEFCONWarningSystem
Director
Director
Posts: 5964
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:26 pm
Contact:

Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:59 pm

I'll play around with the app tomorrow when I am in an area that gets service and see if I can see where the problem may lie. I've never had that happen to me, but who knows if someone else has.

User avatar
RiffRaff
DEFCON Data Analyst
DEFCON Data Analyst
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, US
Contact:

Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:23 pm

Thank you, I appreciate it. It's been happening about two or three times a week. I've done a lot of troubleshooting on the various networks my phone connects to with no results. Let me know if you need any more information from me.

Thanks,
Riff
"It's in your nature to destroy yourselves." - Terminator 2: Judgment Day

Emphatic_apparatek
Regular contributor
Posts: 370
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:04 pm

Wed Jul 13, 2016 12:52 pm

I didn't know we had an app, is it Iphone compatible, too?

User avatar
Drumboy44
DWS Staff
DWS Staff
Posts: 3455
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 4:29 pm
Contact:

Sat Jul 23, 2016 1:07 pm

Oswald wrote:
Emphatic_apparatek wrote:I didn't know we had an app, is it Iphone compatible, too?
Just PC and Droid. It's a defcon widget that only displays the current number- and an audible when it changes. But yeah it hasn't been working lately.
Are there any future plans to improve the app and add additional stuff to the app?
" man fears time, but time fears the pyramids "

User avatar
DEFCONWarningSystem
Director
Director
Posts: 5964
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:26 pm
Contact:

Sat Jul 23, 2016 4:20 pm

I checked the app and it appears to be working correctly.
Are there any future plans to improve the app and add additional stuff to the app?
Not at this time. We want to keep the app simple.

rtangreen
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 6:17 pm

Wed Jun 07, 2017 6:25 pm

Same problem with my phone now suddenly started saying no internet connection and won't update from that screen

User avatar
DEFCONWarningSystem
Director
Director
Posts: 5964
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:26 pm
Contact:

Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:04 pm

Hmm...you're not the only one reporting a problem. I will look into it.

User avatar
RiffRaff
DEFCON Data Analyst
DEFCON Data Analyst
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, US
Contact:

Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:37 pm

Same with my phone app, for what it's worth.
"It's in your nature to destroy yourselves." - Terminator 2: Judgment Day

User avatar
DEFCONWarningSystem
Director
Director
Posts: 5964
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:26 pm
Contact:

Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:33 pm

For some reason, access to the code file is being blocked. We are looking into the issue.

Post Reply